Finland: Restrictions on entry into Finland extended until 27 June

NordenBladet — On 3 June, the Government decided to extend the restrictions on entry into the country until 27 June 2021. The COVID-19 pandemic continues to spread, and we do not yet have adequate measures available to replace the restrictions. For this reason, and to curb the spread of COVID-19 variants, both internal border controls and restrictions on external border traffic will continue. Some amendments will be made to the decisions adopted on 20 May. These will enter into force on 7 June.

In addition to the restrictions on internal and external border traffic, restrictions on the opening hours of certain border crossing points at the western border in Lapland and the eastern border will continue. At the border crossing points for passenger traffic on land and water, the accepted criteria for entry are the return of persons living in Finland or in another EU or Schengen country and other essential reasons. At the border crossing points for passenger air traffic, another accepted criterion for entry is travel for work.

Travel for work allowed from now on in air traffic between Schengen countriesInternal border traffic refers to traffic between Finland and other Schengen countries. From now on, travel for work will be allowed in air traffic between EU countries or Schengen countries. Students will be allowed entry for purposes of training included in their studies.In water transport and on land borders (with the exception of border community traffic between Finland and Norway), travel for work will still be allowed for essential reasons only. Essential reasons mean work that is important for the functioning of society or the security of supply or certain specifically defined special groups. Restrictions were lifted earlier for residents of border communities between Finland and Norway.

Based on an epidemiological assessment, internal border control is lifted from travel between Finland and Malta. Finland now restricts entry from all other Schengen countries except Iceland and Malta. The Schengen countries are Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden, which are EU Member States, as well as Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland, which are non-EU countries.

The restrictions do not apply to leisure boating between Schengen countries. Restrictions on external border traffic remain unchanged External border traffic refers to traffic between Finland and non-Schengen third countries. The Government decision of 20 May will be specified so that non-Finnish citizens living in another EU or Schengen country are not allowed to return to their country of residence through Finland if the transit is not work related. This does not apply to air traffic. Based on an epidemiological assessment, no other amendments will be made to the decision.

Restrictions have been lifted earlier for traffic arriving in Finland from the Vatican, and for traffic between Finland and Australia, South Korea, Israel, Singapore, Rwanda, Thailand and New Zealand for residents of these countries. Entry from these low-risk countries is not restricted due to the low incidence of COVID-19.For other countries, the restrictions on entry will be extended until 27 June 2021.Cruise vessels are permitted to call at ports but passengers are not allowed to come ashore.

Definition of family broadened for family reasons and imperative family reasonsThe definition of family will be broadened for travel across internal and external borders. At internal borders, family means from now on spouse, children, grandchildren, parents, parents-in-law, grandparents, siblings, great-grandchildren, uncles, aunts and cousins, and family members of those listed above. At external borders, family means spouse, children, parents, parents-in-law and grandparents, and family members of those listed above.

Government still recommends avoiding unnecessary travel abroadUnder the Constitution of Finland, Finnish citizens and residents of Finland always have the right to return to Finland, and everyone has the right to leave Finland if they so wish, provided that there is no legal impediment to this. However, the Government still recommends avoiding unnecessary travel to other countries, except for countries for which the restrictions on entry have been lifted. Travellers must be aware of the current entry and quarantine regulations of their country of destination.


Tags assigned to this article:
FinlandFinnish GovernmentNews in Finnish


High quality & nature friendly luxury cosmetics from Scandinavia -


Copyright © NordenBladet 2008-2021 All Rights Reserved.
Scandinavian / Nordic news and info in English.
Nordic News Service & Link Directory